Jump to content
Main menu
Main menu
move to sidebar
hide
Navigation
Main page
Recent changes
Random page
Help about MediaWiki
Special pages
Niidae Wiki
Search
Search
Appearance
Create account
Log in
Personal tools
Create account
Log in
Pages for logged out editors
learn more
Contributions
Talk
Editing
Rules of Go
(section)
Page
Discussion
English
Read
Edit
View history
Tools
Tools
move to sidebar
hide
Actions
Read
Edit
View history
General
What links here
Related changes
Page information
Appearance
move to sidebar
hide
Warning:
You are not logged in. Your IP address will be publicly visible if you make any edits. If you
log in
or
create an account
, your edits will be attributed to your username, along with other benefits.
Anti-spam check. Do
not
fill this in!
=== Seki === For defining this notion, it is useful to introduce some additional terminology: ;Terminology * An ''eye'' is a connected group of one (or more) empty intersections entirely surrounded by a chain or chains of stones of one color. * A chain of one color is ''independently alive'' if it is (or can be made to be) adjacent to two eyes. These definitions are given only loosely, since a number of complications arise when attempts are made to formalize the notion of life and death. A group of stones of one color is said to be ''alive by seki'' (or ''in seki'') if it is not independently alive, yet cannot be captured by the opponent. {{Go board 5x5 | w| w| b| b| b | w| w| b| b| b | w| | w| b| r | w| w| w| b| b | w| w|dc| b| b|24}} For example, in the diagram above, the black and white groups each have only one eye. Hence they are not independently alive. However, if either Black or White were to play at the circled point, the other side would then capture their group by playing in its eye. In this case both the black and white groups are alive by seki. In the diagram above, the circled point is not surrounded by stones of a single color, and accordingly is not counted as territory for either side (irrespective of ruleset). In more complex cases, as here,<ref>Diagram taken from Robert Jasiek [http://home.snafu.de/jasiek/diffasts.html [s n a f u ]] {{in lang|de}}</ref> {{Go board 5x5 | w| u| b|uc| b | l| w| b| b| b | b| b| w| w| w |lc| b| w| | w | b| b| w| w|dr|24}} a vacant point may be surrounded by a group of a single color which is in seki. According to Japanese and Korean rules, such a point is nonetheless treated as neutral territory for scoring purposes. Generally, the Japanese and Korean rules only count a vacant point as territory for one color if it is surrounded by a group or groups of that color that are independently alive.
Summary:
Please note that all contributions to Niidae Wiki may be edited, altered, or removed by other contributors. If you do not want your writing to be edited mercilessly, then do not submit it here.
You are also promising us that you wrote this yourself, or copied it from a public domain or similar free resource (see
Encyclopedia:Copyrights
for details).
Do not submit copyrighted work without permission!
Cancel
Editing help
(opens in new window)
Search
Search
Editing
Rules of Go
(section)
Add topic